The Cable House
Innovation Inspired by Renovation
Since 1995, RGI has occupied The Cable House, a historic piece of Cincinnati’s rich history that dates back to the mid-1870s. Long before renovation and revitalization were trending, this structure was repurposed as office space with modernized interiors that complement the building’s traditional industrial exterior. The building itself includes 50,000 square feet of spacious, robust architecture featuring exposed brick, internal stone walls, the original structural beams, high ceilings and a large atrium with ample natural light.
A Proud History of Progression
During the 1870s, an affable entrepreneur named George B. Kerper assumed the Walnut Hills and Cincinnati Street Railroad project. Despite skepticism, he finished a cable car line by 1875 which stretched 8 miles up Gilbert Avenue to its red brick depot (The Cable House) at the summit. Kerper continued to expand the reach of the Walnut Hills line to Peebles Corner, and it became the second-largest cable line in Cincinnati.
As the main pulling house for both the Mt. Adams & Eden Park Railway, The Cable House operated cable cars up until 1898. The electric streetcar followed, and by 1950 the Cable House required a new purpose. It stands today as one of the few remaining testaments to Kerper’s legacy.